South East Scoobies  

Go Back   South East Scoobies > The Garage > General Mechanics

Old 03-01-2011, 09:19 PM
Regular User

Default bugeye engine question/problem

HI all,ive just bought myself a bugeye 2001 wrx,the problem is first thing in the morning the car puffs a small amount of blue smoke out,once it has dont this it will be ok until the next day.
Ive done plenty of research,and have discovered that;
boxer engines can suffer this due to the design,
it can be caused by stem seals
it can be piston ringlands
it can be overfull engine oil or the wrong grade
and select other bits,
now i have been a mechanic for 14 years so i can confirm;
stem seals are ok as there is no smoke at all on overun whatsoever no matter the conditions.
Piston rings/ringlands id assume ok as there is no smoke once running,on boost,off boost,warm or cold,no real smoke from the oil filler and it just smells of oil
Oil is slightly overful,and im unsure of grade,i bought the car and the level was at the bottom below the min,so added a litre which maxed it,but have since discoved these have 2 max markings whethe warm or cold,so will be servicing it with new oil/filter and the correct amount of 10w40!
As to whether boxers suffer this i am not 100% google has turned up plenty of results and lots of people say a catch can helps.
I do have oil in the ic,throttle body,and turbo outlet,and inside the inlet pipe is oily also,this i understand could be caused by the overfiling of oil,as could the smoke on startup.
Now down to the main query,when cranking the car whether warm or cold,it doesnt sound like all compression is equal,its hard to explain,but its like 2 cylinders fire equal then the next 2 sort of skip by quicker,it will do this no matter whether warm or not,and with the crank sensor unplugged so it didnt start so i could check it.